Topic: ASP.Net vs Front-End Architecture

http://www.garrettdimon.com/archives/as … chitecture

^ Some good reasons there not to use ASP.Net, or if you do what to look out for.

Give me liturgy or give me death.

Re: ASP.Net vs Front-End Architecture

Interesting article, from the perspective of an MCSD most of my programming has been focused at business and data layer services.  The UI layer is just a "skin" for my application.  I would agree to a point that .NET 1.x is not the most CSS friendly, but you need to remember that when 1.x was developed (late 1990's) CSS standards were not a huge focus within the industry as a whole (keep in mind, I'm not a designer smile ).  Specifically, tables were still the layout method of choice. 

I have to take issue with his item number 6.  With the implementation of client side validation controls, web user controls, etc. the client id is very important the way asp.net renders it.  Could it have been done better?  Probably, but we have about 6 years of experience now with the 1.x framework to complain about, and hence 2.0.  2.0 makes great strides for the CSS gurus of the world.  Is it complete, probably not, but is anything when it comes to technology? ..... No.... that's why we all have jobs. smile

We use the control provider Telerik. They are very focused on CSS standard and is making great strides in standardizing their control rendering.

Last edited by chuck.boyer (2006-07-26 12:20:42)

Yeah, I didn't like the HTML that the .NET controls rendered so when I developed Vine Type I didn't use them.  The aspx page for Vine Type is a single line pointing to the code-behind.  No front-end code whatsoever, not even an HTML element.   I read in a template file (that had better be well-formed or Vine Type will give you an error) instead.  Now every page validates every time.

.NET isn't the problem, the HTML that the controls render that are the problem.  .NET rocks!   smile