Topic: Asp 3.0 & Ms Sql

I'm not sure if i'm allow to post here but here goes.

i'm a newbie to SQL and ran into a little problem. Not sure if it's a sql or asp problem.

Here is the error

Error Type:
Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server (0x80040E14)
Syntax error or access violation

The code is all inline sql and it has acess to the table. Here is the sql:

SELECT DISTINCT dbo.tblEvents.EventID, dbo.tblEvents.EventTitle, dbo.tblEvents.EventTeaserShort, dbo.tblEventDates.EventDate, dbo.tblEvents.EventTimeStart FROM dbo.tblEvents INNER JOIN dbo.tblEventDates ON dbo.tblEvents.EventID = dbo.tblEventDates.EventID WHERE tblEventDates.EventDate = '5/10/2006' Order By dbo.tblEventDates.EventDate, dbo.tblEvents.EventTimeStart

It works when i tested it in sql server.

so i'm thinking it's an ASP code issue. I'm using ASP 3.0 don't know .Net yet.

Here is the ASP Code:

Function GetRecords()

'on error resume next
    Set m_rsEvents = server.CreateObject("Adodb.Recordset")

Dim cmd
    Dim strQuery

strQuery = "SELECT DISTINCT  dbo.tblEvents.EventID, dbo.tblEvents.EventTitle, dbo.tblEvents.EventTeaserShort, dbo.tblEventDates.EventDate, dbo.tblEvents.EventTimeStart "
    strQuery = strQuery & "FROM  dbo.tblEvents INNER JOIN dbo.tblEventDates ON dbo.tblEvents.EventID = dbo.tblEventDates.EventID WHERE "
    strQuery = strQuery & MakeWhereClause
    strQuery = strQuery & " Order By dbo.tblEventDates.EventDate, dbo.tblEvents.EventTimeStart"

Set cmd = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Command")
    cmd.ActiveConnection = oConn
    cmd.CommandType = adCmdText
    cmd.CommandText = strQuery

Set m_rsEvents = GetReadOnlyRecordset(cmd)

Set cmd = Nothing
End Function

Any help would be great!
Thanks
Mark

Re: Asp 3.0 & Ms Sql

Mark - First, this is a perfect place to post a question like this. 

Second, I would recommend using line continuation when building your sql string.  Strings are immutable and using the
strQuery = strQuery & ...

uses more overhead and memory than using