Topic: Why Cold Fusion?

Hey guys,

When I initially got started with Web Design, I used to code with Allaire Homesite (now integrated into Dreamweaver). At that time I also heard about Cold Fusion, but was a total newbie when it came to applications on the web, so didn't pay it much attention. Nowadays I have grown more and more curious with PHP and ASP and am even using them at my part time job.

Okay, so now that I have my intro done, my question is why would I want to use CF? Does it have any benefits over PHP or ASP?

Exercise your faith!

Re: Why Cold Fusion?

Yannick: It sort of does what Rails does for Ruby - simplifies a lot of tasks, so that you don't have to write the functions yourself. It's not as hack-able (in my opinion) as PHP, meaning you can't make it do things too outside the box without some in-depth knowledge of it.  One benefit I suppose is better interfacing with Macromedia Flex, their platform for building RIA's - Rich Internet Applications.

Give me liturgy or give me death.

Honestly, I think the biggest benefit of ColdFusion is how easy it is for designers coming from an HTML writing background to learn. It's tag based, so it immediately makes more sense to HTML coders.

I agree with Nathan, it certainly simplifies tasks when compared to PHP, yet retains the ability for you to customize anything you need.

Proverbs 3:5,6

Hey thanks guys much appreciated, I understand some more now. Would you say that CF developers are in high demand?

Exercise your faith!

I see more open requests for PHP developers than ColdFusion developers. I don't know if that is global, but it has certainly been my experience.

Ah okay cool thanks. I wonder why Macromedia haven't updated the CF product line to version 8. Surely it needs updates and enhancements just like any other product they have.

Exercise your faith!

Maybe they plan on phasing it out like shockwave?