Topic: "Must be made in Photoshop"

I posted this on FreelanceSwitch too, but I want you're guys reaction:

Looking at the design gigs I was shocked how many listings require Photoshop for the web design. Maybe I'm wrong, but I had the impression Fireworks was the program of choice for most web designers.

I used to be a Photoshop web designer, but felt in the extreme minority. When the CS3 series came out and Fireworks started supporting Photoshop effects I made the switch and have been much more productive every since.

Why does a client feel they have the liberty to mandate beyond what they want, and tell you how to do it? If I take my car to a mechanic I don't insist they use only Mac tools. (Double entendre!)

Have any of you ever accepted such a job and simply saved the project into a PSD for delivery? Because in the end-run it's the same.

Last edited by Leovenous (2009-07-24 10:18:33)

"Bear 270, young man. Bear two, seven, zero, over." - Musings of a flight simulator guru, me.

Re: "Must be made in Photoshop"

FWIW, I still use Photoshop for web design, as do all of the other designers at my company. (Of course, that doesn't mean we're not the minority.)

I feel a nostalgia for an age yet to come...

Yeah, I just save things out in PSD if it's a requirement. At the company I work for (Fellowship Technologies), we're 100% Fireworks, and just we hired my former coworker (from Asbury Seminary) David Brooks who used to use Photoshop but has since moved to FW. We don't really look for PS on a résumé. Heck, I own CS4 Master Suite, but only have Fireworks installed.

In my opinion, Fireworks is to Web Design as Photoshop is to Photography. More on why I consider FW ideal, here...

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/fireworks/a … se_it.html - Article I wrote for Adobe Dev Center.

That's not to say people can't use Photoshop for web design, just that if they do, they're using the wrong tool. smile