Topic: Drupal File Upload with hook_form_alter()

Hello, Godbit!

I've been "lurking" around here for quite some time but never signed up or joined in on any of the discussions.  I really appreciate this site and the community, though, even if I haven't actively participated until now.

I was wondering if someone could help me out.  For the past couple of years, I have been a .NET developer by trade.  Prior to that, programming was a hobby and PHP was the tool of choice.  Recently, a friend of mine asked if I could help him out with some Drupal work he needs done for a site he is running.  I've been working on this for awhile now (longer than it would take an experienced Drupal programmer), we're both very anxious for this to be done - timelines, you know...So, I'm hoping someone here might be experienced enough to help me with what I'm doing wrong.  I feel silly, as this type of thing should be so easy...

All I want to do at this point is add a file upload to a form in another module.  I've created the file upload control to the form using the hook_form_alter() method, but using the Drupal way of working with files does not produce a $file object.  If I use the standard PHP $_FILES array, I have access to the file.  I'm not always very good at explaining things, so let me provide you with the code.

case 'uc_attribute_option_form':
  if (!user_access('administer option images')){
  break;
  }

$form['option_image'] = array(
  '#type' => 'file',
  '#title' => t('Image'),
  '#name' => t('option_image'),
  '#description' => t('Add an image to this option'),
  '#size' => 47,
  '#weight' => 2,
  // '#default_value' => '',
  );

$form['option_image_test'] = array(
  '#type' => 'textfield',
  '#title' => t('Testing'),
  '#description' => t('Just testing the alter_form() hook for uc_attribute...'),
  '#name' => 'option_image_test',
  '#weight' => 3,
  // '#default_value' => 'Default test value',
  );

$form['#attributes'] = array('enctype' => 'multipart/form-data');