Topic: CSS Drop Down Menu Issue

I feel like I'm the only one using this forum... is that bad? Sorry I'm just still kinda new to CSS and I've got a lot of questions. I've been working on a site for a client which has a fancy drop down menu. I've been working on it, but I need help with the last element of it.

It's supposed to look like this (An image)

Here's what I've got so far (A website)

The first two links, About and Services are working right now. Services looks the nicest, but is missing the bottom, the About menu I'm experimenting around trying to get the bottom to work. What I'm trying to do is add a <span> around the inner menu to give me something to attach that bottom curved background image to.

Wondering if anybody could give me any advice, is the <span> the right way to go about this? Do you know of a better way? It's a tricky menu because it's rounded, and transparent.

Thanks for your help!

Re: CSS Drop Down Menu Issue

The span might work, but it would need to go outside the <ul> not inside it (as that's invalid!) 

You've also got a couple of other invalid bits of code that would be worth ironing out: … testing%2F (for the onLoad, it should onload - xhtml is all lowercase)

You also might be able to add a class to the <ul> (so ul and ul.bottom do different things...) or add a class to the last <li> and hang it on there.

James Cooper --  God loving, banjo playing, geek!

Yeah, usually adding an extra <span> or <div> allows you to put the bottom of an image in like that. Basically the Sliding Doors technique from ALA: and

Also, not sure if you're building it for IE6 as well, but things are rendering pretty off in that browser... hmm

Just wanted to say that I really like the design. It's very clean. I'll play around with some suggestions and get them back to you soon.

Psalm 91 :: Still working on my personal site...