Topic: PayPal Pro

Greetings,

I'm a freelance web developer and I do web work for Village Missions, www.village-missions.org.

Has anyone incorporated PayPal Pro before? We have been using the free version of PayPal for sometime (to accept donations), and it works great. Now we would like the donor to remain on our web site through the entire donation process, so we are looking to use PayPal Pro. We don't need a fancy shopping cart or anything. Our need is for something exactly the same as the free version of PayPal, but with the ability for the donor to stay on our web site through the entire donation process.

However, I looked at the info for PayPal Pro, and it looks confusing. I was hoping someone might be able to shed some light on a few things for me:

My main question is about the PCI Compliance Standards. Do I need to worry about that? Like, one of the requirements is to Build and Maintain a Secure Network, which includes Install and Maintain a Firewall. Since we are on Gospelcom's servers, how would I do that, or does Gospelcom already do that? Also, you're supposed to use and regularly update antivirus software (is that on the server, or on your personal computer, or?) Also, Track and monitor all access to network resources and cardholder data. (I'm just really not sure what all this means for our situation).

Also, I guess we have to have a "Quarterly Network Scan" by a Qualified Independent Scan Vendor. What does that mean and how would we do that? What would the cost be?

Anyway, I think I can figure out the technical part, but this other stuff I don't really understand. I've never dealt with anything like this before. Is there someone out there who has implemented something similar?

Thanks for any help.

Matthew Farnell
Webmaster, Village Missions
www.village-missions.org

Re: PayPal Pro