Topic: Access Database Connectivity

First off I want to say, I am a complete newbie when it comes to ASP.NET. I am using Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 for this project.

Essentially, I am just trying to setup a basic form that I want the information, when submitted, to be inserted into an Access database. How do I go about setting up the database connection and running queries?

I am more familiar with PHP so, maybe you could compare that for me. Or give any good references, there is so much on ASP.NET that its somewhat confusing.

-- Dan

Re: Access Database Connectivity

First off, I would not use access, I would use SQL Express if you don't have the full version of SQL Server.  Access has some nuances and will not scale beyond about 20 concurrent web users.  SQL Express is free, is the SQL Server engine under the covers and allows you to build stored procedures, triggers, etc. where access does not. 

Secondly take a look at http://www.asp.net/Tutorials/quickstart.aspx.  In the left menu, click on the option for Performing Data Access.  VS.NET 2005 has some great rapid application tools for connecting to the database.  In short, you drop a grid to the form, in the smart tag you set up your connection, then your table, and bam you have your data.  Don't make it more difficult than it needs to be, it really is that easy.

Third, depending on the scale of your project, you may want to look into using the Enterprise Library components.  These are components built for enterprise applications, that make things like data access easy and consistent throughout your application.  You can find more info here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/practices/

Hope this helps!
Chuck

Like I said, NEWBIE! ;-)

Thanks for the assistance.