Topic: Just starting out... How do I get some starter sites?

Greetings all,

I just caught wind of this site last week and have loved what I have seen so far.  As the title of this post states, I'm just beginning to (re)start do some design work.  While I was in college I did some web work at night to help pay for some of the bills, but the web has changed dramatically since then.  I've been keeping up with standards based dev and really enjoy the design aspect of development (ie branding, visuals, layout, print...).  I just stripped my old site of all the extremely old content last week looking to start fresh (http://www.creativedivergence.com/). 

I already work full time as a Windows Systems Admin, but would like to start picking up projects on the side to help supplement our income (my wife is currently doing the very difficult but enjoyable job of staying home with our 3yr, 2yr, and 10mo olds smile ).  I need some practical advice of building a portfolio and getting starter clients/projects.  I have about 4 years of experience on the Network and Systems side of technology.  But the my web dev experience is out-dated and the sites that I use to maintain had been passed off to others once I started to have kids.

Thanks for the help!

Last edited by orli (2006-11-13 08:21:43)

Re: Just starting out... How do I get some starter sites?

I was a pastor for eight years and just dabbled in web design. Then I left the ministry and started to build a business. Frankly, it is less about talent than it is just doing work. I started out doing my own projects; then trying to do REAL web sites for anyone who would give me a chance.

The most important thing is running a good project; not just building a site for your portfolio. Why? referrals is where you get real jobs. The more good projects you run, the more clients will refer you to others. It builds but it takes time.