Topic: Freelance, should I go there?

I've been looking for a job in Baltimore for a little while now, and I really want to work with standards-based web design (honestly there doesn't seem to be too much of that going on around here).

I'm confident in my abilities and I've been considering freelancing for a bit, I have a site or two that I could start with, but before I really do anything I would love to hear from someone with a bit more experience in freelancing.

-The first question I have is the one that everyone much hates to answer, and it's about the current market-rate for web design services, does anyone possibly know of an accurate online freelance cost-calculator?

-My other question is:  From your experience, do you think I should get a job designing with a company first to get the experience and see how they do things before I start it on my own?

Re: Freelance, should I go there?

Everyone's situation is different. I've never designed for a company...I'm self-taught, and freelance full-time. I have no art education, no design education, and no computer education. I've just been using computers for 20 years, and have somewhat of an eye for layout, colors, etc. If I were asking myself for advice on whether I should become a freelance web designer, I'd say

NO WAY!

...but, here I am. Whether you can do it as well depends on a lot of factors. The ones I'd worry about first are:

1. Customers
If you don't have any, you can't make it full-time.

2. Debt
If you have a lot of it, you might not make it full-time.

3. Business Experience
It's a long, uphill battle for those who don't already know a few things about running a business. Taxes, business cards, advertising, pricing, calendar management, self-discipline, and decent organizational skills are just a few of the things that can make or break your attempts at freelancing.

4. God