Topic: When things are slow...

What do you guys do to find work?

Things have been REALLY slow for me. I've been doing volunteer work, calling agencies, calling and emailing ads around here but nothing is happening.
Its times like these I'm so thankful for my faith...but I can't help being a little scared.

So what DO you guys do to find work when things are slow?

Lisa

Re: When things are slow...

Lisa I'd like to hire you. Do you do logo's?

I've been searching around to get a logo done for Search N Sniff.

Also I'd like to give you a little bit of spotlight. I'd like to invite you as a guest blogger too. We receive thousands of visitors per day and I'd like to help you out.

Let me know if your interested.

Blessing,
JN

Last edited by jonathannelson (2006-09-13 23:40:50)

I've been freelancing full-time for only 17 months...and I had a slow time of three or four months beginning last August. I stopped "filling the pipe" with new prospective clients because I thought I'd wrapped up a gig designing, coding, writing, and maintaining ten websites for a local realtor willing to pay top dollar. The deal fell through, and I had nothing.

It was tough, but we made it through. It helps that we haven't used credit cards in 16 years...our monthly outgo is really pretty low. Had we had more debt, I wouldn't have tried freelancing.

When I'm concerned about getting work, I go to Craigslist and Guru and look for work...just like I'd fill out job applications if I needed a job. I also talk with my current clients about my downtime. Fortunately, I think I've treated my clients pretty well. At this point, 100% of my work (yes, everything for 17 months) has been a personal referral. I've never done a website for a 'stranger'.