Topic: Transitional vs Strict Markup.

I think this article might come in handy at some point:

Transitional vs. Strict Markup

Exercise your faith!

Re: Transitional vs Strict Markup.

Bump. This is a really good article. Go check it out.

Give me liturgy or give me death.

I found this very useful. Thanks, Yannick!

I am new to XHTML, but I'm sure I saw a target attribute on a Strict XHTML. Is that a deadly sin?

Is there a way to make a client browser open a link in a new window without using a target attribute?

He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose

Couldn't find the original article that dealt with rel="external", but this should do the trick... http://www.sitepoint.com/article/standa … iant-world

{{{(>.<)}}} (o.o) \(^o^)/

That's correct, target="_blank" is not supposed to be used anymore. There are differing opinions on it, but I believe it to be a sure-fire way to make yourself look like a newbie. Here are a few more articles on the topic, both from guys I highly respect (they disagree)...

http://www.456bereastreet.com/archive/2 … w_windows/
http://www.robertnyman.com/2006/02/13/h … attribute/

Give me liturgy or give me death.

Artjom -

idcaft wrote:

Is there a way to make a client browser open a link in a new window without using a target attribute?

The simplest method would be to add the following to your 'a' tag:  onclick="window.open('url')"

If the visitor has javascript turned off, then it will simply display the url in place of the current page like any link.  At any rate, please use sparingly.

That’s my 2¢.  :^{>

Last edited by maspick (2006-03-30 12:13:18)

Honored to Serve for Him - Tom ('Mas) Pickering <)><

Will pop-up blockers not always defeat a window being opened by javascript?

Proverbs 3:5,6

Josh -

josh wrote:

Will pop-up blockers not always defeat a window being opened by javascript?